Review: Blood & Honey by Shelby Mahurin

BOOK STATS

Rating: ☆☆☆1/2
Title: Blood & Honey
Author: Shelby Mahurin
Series: Serpent & Dove #2
Genre: Fantasy
Audience: Young Adult
Format: Hardcover
Length: 528 pages
Publisher: HarperTeen
Release Date: September 1, 2020
Source: Personal collection

SYNOPSIS

After narrowly escaping death at the hands of the Dames Blanches, Lou, Reid, Coco, and Ansel are on the run from coven, kingdom, and church—fugitives with nowhere to hide.

To elude the scores of witches and throngs of chasseurs at their heels, Lou and Reid need allies. Strong ones. But protection comes at a price, and the group is forced to embark on separate quests to build their forces. As Lou and Reid try to close the widening rift between them, the dastardly Morgane baits them in a lethal game of cat and mouse that threatens to destroy something worth more than any coven.

The hotly anticipated sequel to the New York Times and IndieBound bestseller Serpent & Dove—packed with even steamier romance and darker magic—is perfect for fans of Sarah J. Maas.

MY THOUGHTS

I wanted so much MORE from this book. More romance, more character development, more purpose. I didn’t particularly care about the new characters, and the old characters’ growth felt stagnant. I wanted to dig deeper into Lou’s struggle to control her dark side and Reid’s continued aversion to magic. The plot felt unfocused, with a wandering journey where things seemed to happen for the sake of things happening. B&H definitely suffers from middle book syndrome. ⁣

That being said, I did enjoy the ending. I found it creepy, suspenseful, and emotionally gutting. The final twist shocked me and left me desperate to get my hands on book 3. I still have high expectations for this series, and I’m hopeful that the next book will resolve a lot of the issues I had with B&H and delight me as much as S&D.

Author: Caroline | Carolibrary

Hello! I’m Caroline! I am a teacher, a book lover, and a nerd. My passions include reading, writing, bookstagram, barre & yoga, baking, binging TV shows, and Star Wars. I love stories in all formats because they can transport you to a different world while helping you understand the world around you. I have always found books to be a particularly magical source of imagination.

2 thoughts on “Review: Blood & Honey by Shelby Mahurin”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s