ARC Review: The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow by Emma Steinkellner

BOOK STATS

Rating: ☆☆☆☆.5
Title: The Okay Witch and the Hungry Shadow
Author: Emma Steinkellner
Series: The Okay Witch #2
Genre: Fantasy
Audience: Middle Grade
Format: Graphic Novel (eARC)
Length: 256 pages
Publisher: Aladdin
Release Date: July 6, 2021
Source: Publisher via Netgalley

SYNOPSIS

In this hilarious and heartwarming sequel to the bestselling and critically acclaimed graphic novel, The Okay Witch, half-witch Moth Hush uses magic to boost her confidence with disastrous results—perfect for fans of Raina Telgemeier and Molly Ostertag!

Moth Hush is starting to settle into her newfound witch heritage and powers, but life at school continues to be rough. Even her best friend, Charlie, doesn’t entirely understand what it’s like for her to always be the one who gets mocked, and things only get worse when Moth’s mom starts dating one of the dorkiest teachers in the school! Then Moth gets hold of a mysterious charm that can unleash another version of herself—one who is confident, cool, and extremely popular. What could possibly go wrong?

MY THOUGHTS

I love this middle grade graphic novel series!

Moth’s experiences are so relatable to middle grade audiences. In this book, Moth struggles with bullying and her desire to fit in with her classmates, even if it means compromising who she is and doing something dangerous. Moth makes mistakes, but she learns from them. This book also explores Moth’s race more than the first book did.

I liked the first book a little bit more, but this still knocks it out of the park. I adore watching Moth master her developing witchy powers while dealing with typical teenage issues in this heartfelt series. I recommend this series for all ages, but especially upper elementary and middle grade children.

Thank you to the publisher and Netgalley for gifting me an eARC in exchange for an honest review.

Author: Caroline | Carolibrary

Hello! I’m Caroline! I am a teacher, a book lover, and a nerd. My passions include reading, writing, bookstagram, barre & yoga, baking, binging TV shows, and Star Wars. I love stories in all formats because they can transport you to a different world while helping you understand the world around you. I have always found books to be a particularly magical source of imagination.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s