Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn in This One by Amanda Lovelace

BOOK STATS

Rating: ☆☆☆☆☆
Title: The Witch Doesn’t Burn in This One
Author: Amanda Lovelace
Series: Women Are Some Kind of Magic #2
Genre: Poetry
Audience: Adult
Format: Paperback
Length: 191 pages
Publisher: Andrews McMeel
Release Date: March 6, 2018
Source: Personal collection
Recommended for fans of: women
Content Warnings: child abuse, intimate partner abuse, sexual assault, eating disorders, trauma, death, murder… a list of triggers is included at the beginning of the book

SYNOPSIS

The witch: supernaturally powerful, inscrutably independent, and now—indestructible. These moving, relatable poems encourage resilience and embolden women to take control of their own stories. Enemies try to judge, oppress, and marginalize her, but the witch doesn’t burn in this one.

MY THOUGHTS

These poems spoke to me a lot more than her first book. The writing was more consistent, the word choice was more effective, and the transitions between poems were smoother. Amanda Lovelace grew a lot as a writer since The Princess Saves Herself in This One.

Sadly, I could relate to every poem in this collection about womanhood and commentary on the patriarchy and rape culture.

I loved the red text and the symbolism of fire throughout the book. These poems reminded me that I am strong and confident on my own and that women need to support other women.

Author: Caroline | Carolibrary

Hello! I’m Caroline! I am a teacher, a book lover, and a nerd. My passions include reading, writing, bookstagram, barre & yoga, baking, binging TV shows, and Star Wars. I love stories in all formats because they can transport you to a different world while helping you understand the world around you. I have always found books to be a particularly magical source of imagination.

2 thoughts on “Review: The Witch Doesn’t Burn in This One by Amanda Lovelace”

Leave a comment

Design a site like this with WordPress.com
Get started