A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson

BOOK STATS

Rating: ☆☆☆☆1/2
Title: A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder
Author: Holly Jackson
Series: A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder #1
Genre: Thriller
Audience: Young Adult
Format: Hardcover
Length: 400 pages
Publisher: Delacorte Press
Release Date: February 4, 2020
Source: Purchased
Recommended for Fans of: true crime podcasts, Veronica Mars, Karen M. McManus books

SYNOPSIS

For readers of Kara Thomas and Karen McManus, an addictive, twisty crime thriller with shades of Serial and Making a Murderer about a closed local murder case that doesn’t add up, and a girl who’s determined to find the real killer–but not everyone wants her meddling in the past.

Everyone in Fairview knows the story.

Pretty and popular high school senior Andie Bell was murdered by her boyfriend, Sal Singh, who then killed himself. It was all anyone could talk about. And five years later, Pip sees how the tragedy still haunts her town.

But she can’t shake the feeling that there was more to what happened that day. She knew Sal when she was a child, and he was always so kind to her. How could he possibly have been a killer?

Now a senior herself, Pip decides to reexamine the closed case for her final project, at first just to cast doubt on the original investigation. But soon she discovers a trail of dark secrets that might actually prove Sal innocent . . . and the line between past and present begins to blur. Someone in Fairview doesn’t want Pip digging around for answers, and now her own life might be in danger.

This is the story of an investigation turned obsession, full of twists and turns and with an ending you’ll never expect.

MY THOUGHTS

There is something so refreshing about reading a YA thriller. YA thrillers still deal with dark and heavy content, but there is a sort of lightness and a sense that justice will be served. This is the perfect book for readers who grew up reading Nancy Drew, watching Veronica Mars, and are now obsessed with true crime.

This book grabbed my attention from the very beginning. It’s the first book I binged in a weekend in quite some time. The mystery was very complex, and I loved how the narrative included interviews, emails, and journal entries from Pip’s project.

I loved Pip’s dedication to finding the truth and clearing Sal’s name. What starts as a school project becomes a bit of an obsession and takes over much of Pip’s life. I loved her chemistry with Ravi. They make a great crime-solving duo and I hope to see more of them together in the rest of the series!

This book had so many twists and turns to keep me frantically flipping pages. I did predict one major thing, but I was honestly surprised when I turned out to be right, so that did not take away from the impact of the reveal. And the twists kept coming even after it seemed like everything had been figured out! This book will keep you on the edge of your til the very end, and I’m so glad it’s going to be a series.

Author: Caroline | Carolibrary

Hello! I’m Caroline! I am a teacher, a book lover, and a nerd. My passions include reading, writing, bookstagram, barre & yoga, baking, binging TV shows, and Star Wars. I love stories in all formats because they can transport you to a different world while helping you understand the world around you. I have always found books to be a particularly magical source of imagination.

6 thoughts on “A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder by Holly Jackson”

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s